Download 2009 Recipient List

The Higgins & Langley Memorial and Education Awards Committee is proud to announce the 2009 Higgins & Langley Memorial Awards in Swiftwater Rescue, which recognize excellence in the dangerous technical rescue discipline of swiftwater and flood rescue.

The Higgins & Langley Swiftwater Rescue Incident Award is being presented to the Montgomery County Fire & Rescue Service, in recognition of the December 23, 2008 rescue of ten motorists stranded by the sudden rupture of a 66-inch water main on River Road during Washington, DC, morning rush hour traffic under record cold and Class II & III swiftwater conditions. Helicopter pilots from the Maryland State Police Aviation Command, and the United States Park Police, Aviation Unit, will share in this commendation.

Personnel being honored:

Montgomery County Fire & Rescue Service
Battalion Chief James Resnick
MC Engine 710 Lt. William Phelps
MC Engine 710 Firefighter III Anthony Bell
MC Engine 710 Firefighter I Ryan Bailey
MC Strike Team 710 Lt Patrick Mitchell
MC Strike Team 710 Master Firefighter Henry Kumm
MC Strike Team 730 Capt. Frank Doyle
MC Strike Team 730 Firefighter III John Dunlavey
Maryland State Police Aviation Command
Maryland State Trooper 2 Helo Jim MacKay
Maryland State Trooper 2 Helo Sergeant Nathan Wheelock
United States Park Police, Aviation Unit
US Park Police Helo Eagle 1st Sergeant Kevin Chittack
US Park Police Helo Eagle 1st Sergeant Jeff Herte

The awards were presented on Friday, May 29, 2009, at 7:30 p.m., at the annual National Association for Search and Rescue (NASAR) conference at the DoubleTree Little Rock (424 West Markham St., Little Rock, AR 72201, 501-372-4371,